Dallas Museum of Art announces Board of Trustees for 2019-2020
The First Art Newspaper on the Net    Established in 1996 Thursday, July 25, 2024

Dallas Museum of Art announces Board of Trustees for 2019-2020
William (Bill) M. Lamont, Jr.

DALLAS, TX.- In elections held last month by the Board of Trustees of the Dallas Museum of Art, the Board approved the 2019–2020 Board of Trustees. Chaired by William (Bill) M. Lamont, Jr., the Officers Nominating Committee unanimously elected Catherine Marcus Rose to serve an additional two-year term as President of the Board. Ms. Rose has been instrumental in successfully leading the Museum as President the past four years and will continue to serve as a guiding force to further strengthen the Museum in the future. “Catherine’s undeniable commitment to and passion for the Museum have shaped this institution in dramatic and exciting ways, and the entire Board of Trustees looks forward to her continued dedication and talented stewardship,” said Mr. Lamont, who will continue in his role as Chairman.

A member of the Board of Trustees for the past eighteen years, Victor Almeida was appointed to serve as Vice President of the Board. Mr. Almeida succeeds A. Shonn Brown, who completes her Board service this year. Ms. Brown, Vice President & Deputy General Counsel at Kimberly-Clark Corporation and a highly respected bar association and civic leader, has been a vital member of the Board since 2013. Susan Byrne Montgomery and Peggy Sewell will continue in their roles as Treasurer and Secretary, respectively.

With a continued focus on equity, diversity, and inclusion, the Committee on Trustees, chaired by A. Shonn Brown, unanimously nominated, elected, and the Board of Trustees approved the following seven individuals to serve as trustees for a three-year term: Thaddeus Arroyo, Chief Executive Officer of AT&T Business; Kathryn W. Hall, Owner of HALL, WALT, and BACA Wines; Roger Horchow, philanthropist and Broadway producer; Sophia Johnson, Founder and President of ABI; Barbara Thomas Lemmon, longtime supporter of the Museum; Brendan McGuire, Regional President of PNC; and Vaughn O. Vennerberg II, Partner and President of MorningStar Oil & Gas.

These six individuals were also elected to serve as representative trustees for a one-year term:

Dyann Skelton, DMA League; George T. Lee, Jr., Foundation for the Arts; Mary McDermott Cook, The Eugene and Margaret McDermott Art Fund; Cindy Rachofsky, Two x Two for AIDS and Art; Nicolette Lamont, The Forum; and Jason Stangel, Junior Associates.

In addition, the Museum announced the election of the following Trustees to a second three-year term: Thomas C. Campbell, Nancy Dedman, Jeffery S. Ellerman, Amy Faulconer, Nancy Halbreich, Elisabeth Karpidas, Thomas W. Lentz, Nancy C. Rogers, Peggy Sewell, and Sogand Shoja.

The Museum is deeply indebted to the following women and men who have and continue to generously donate their time, expertise, resources, and passion for the Dallas Museum of Art. Those members who completed their elected terms at the final Board Meeting of the season include: A. Shonn Brown, four-year Chair of the Committee on Trustees and member of the Executive Committee, Budget & Finance Committee, Audit Committee, and Vice President of the Board; Mary Anne Cree, six-year member of the Investment Committee; Julie B. Hawes, former Chair of the Development Committee and member of the Executive Committee and Building Committee; David S. Huntley, member of the Budget & Finance Committee; Mark H. LaRoe, member of the Audit Committee and Development Committee; Richard R. Pollock, three-year Chair of the Budget & Finance Committee and member of the Building Committee, Executive Committee, Investment Committee, and Learning & Engagement Committee; Howard E. Rachofsky, member of the Budget & Finance Committee, Building Committee, Development Committee, Executive Committee, Investment Committee, and Committee on Trustees; and Daniel Routman, former Chair of the Learning & Engagement Committee and member of the Committee on Collections, Development Committee, Executive Committee, Marketing Committee, and Committee on Trustees.

During the 2018-19 Board year, the DMA continued to build on its strategic plan, which included efforts to strengthen and expand its exhibitions and educational programming, bilingual offerings, and curatorial team with the appointment of new leadership across departments, the announcement of development of expanded education initiatives, and the acquisition of major works across its collections. In support of the DMA’s commitment to engaging the community through programs anchored by its collections, four new curators and a new director of education joined the Museum in 2018, and the Museum expanded its off-site and bilingual program offerings. The Museum also added significant works to its collection, including 13 year-end gifts of 512 works of art in contemporary art, sculpture, photography, and the decorative arts. More recently, it announced its increased commitment to Latin American art with major gifts to the Museum and creation of a new curatorial position.

Today's News

June 4, 2019

The symphonic effect of antique Oriental carpets in the home

Egyptian head with features of Tutankhamen to be offered at Christie's

Internationally unified Marlborough to debut in July 2019 under leadership of Max Levai

A newly-discovered Lewis Chessman appears at auction

Marc Newson's first exhibition of limited-edition furniture in China on view at Gagosian

Print record for Franz Kline in Swann Contemporary

Nude Art Action at Facebook headquarters calls out censorship

Martijn van Nieuwenhuyzen appointed new Director of De Pont Museum

Kestenbaum & Company doubles sales in their second Fine Musical Instruments auction

The Modern Institute opens an exhibition of works by Warsaw-based artist Monika Sosnowska

'The beginning of a new world' in the Kröller-Müller Museum

Carpenters Workshop Gallery presents Roger Herman's ceramics and paintings

Dallas Museum of Art announces Board of Trustees for 2019-2020

New series of abstract and large-scale paintings by Nasser Azam on view at the Saatchi Gallery

Seattle Art Fair announces 2019 exhibitor list & programming featuring earthquake simulations and AI robot

Exhibition features experimental installations by five women artists

The Director of the Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma, Leevi Haapala, to continue until 31 May 2024

Remarkable Roman marble hounds lead Bonhams Antiquities sale

Palácio Sinel de Cordes hosts Visionary Architecture: An exhibition curated by Antonia Gaeta

Exhibition showcases the wide field of contemporary art photography in Norway

Marilyn Monroe photos by Manfred Kreiner heading to Julien's Auctions "Legends" event

Early Magic: The Gathering cards will be sold by Weiss Auctions

Bernard Jacobson Gallery celebrates half a century of the creative output of Bruce Mclean

Jennifer Allora and Guillermo Calzadilla open their first major solo project in Russia

Museums, Exhibits, Artists, Milestones, Digital Art, Architecture, Photography,
Photographers, Special Photos, Special Reports, Featured Stories, Auctions, Art Fairs,
Anecdotes, Art Quiz, Education, Mythology, 3D Images, Last Week, .


Ignacio Villarreal
(1941 - 2019)
Editor & Publisher: Jose Villarreal
Art Director: Juan José Sepúlveda Ramírez
Writer: Ofelia Zurbia Betancourt

Royalville Communications, Inc

ignaciovillarreal.org juncodelavega.com facundocabral-elfinal.org
Founder's Site. Hommage
to a Mexican poet.

The First Art Newspaper on the Net. The Best Versions Of Ave Maria Song Junco de la Vega Site Ignacio Villarreal Site
Tell a Friend
Dear User, please complete the form below in order to recommend the Artdaily newsletter to someone you know.
Please complete all fields marked *.
Sending Mail
Sending Successful