New Museum announces all-artist jury for inaugural Hostetler/Wrigley Sculpture Award
The First Art Newspaper on the Net    Established in 1996 Monday, July 15, 2024

New Museum announces all-artist jury for inaugural Hostetler/Wrigley Sculpture Award
Teresita Fernández, Joan Jonas, Julie Mehretu, Cindy Sherman, and Kiki Smith to select woman artist for $400K grant.

NEW YORK, NY.- The New Museum today announces artists Teresita Fernández, Joan Jonas, Julie Mehretu, Cindy Sherman, and Kiki Smith as the jury for the inaugural Hostetler/Wrigley Sculpture Award, a biennial award supporting the production of new sculpture by women artists. Made possible by the Hostetler/Wrigley Foundation, the $400,000 grant supports the artist's honorarium, production, installation, administration, and exhibition of new work on the New Museum’s forthcoming public plaza on the Bowery—a new public space created as part of the Museum’s OMA-designed building expansion. There will be five recipients of the Hostetler/Wrigley Sculpture Award over ten years, with the winner selected by a rotating jury. The inaugural recipient will be announced in spring 2023.

“While great strides have been made in recent years towards greater gender parity in the arts, this new award aims to address the persistent gap in support for women artists undertaking ambitious, large-scale commissions. The New Museum’s long history supporting women artists makes it the perfect place for this,” said Sue Hostetler Wrigley, Co-Founder of the Hosteler/Wrigley Foundation.

“With our partners at the Hostetler/Wrigley Foundation, the New Museum is thrilled inaugurate this award with an outstanding group of pathbreaking artists serving as the jury,” said Lisa Phillips, Toby Devan Lewis Director of the New Museum.

Founded in 1977 by Marcia Tucker, the New Museum has been led by women directors throughout its 45-year history and championed women artists through commissions, residencies, and milestone exhibitions, recently including monographic presentations of Lynda Benglis, Nicole Eisenman, Lubaina Himid, Kapwani Kiwanga, Lynn Hershman Leeson, Simone Leigh, Sarah Lucas, Carol Rama, Faith Ringgold, Pipilotti Rist, Mika Rottenberg, Rosemarie Trockel, Kaari Upson, Andra Ursuta, and Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, among many others. In 2016, the Museum established the Artemis Council of women philanthropists supporting women artists, of which Sue Hostetler Wrigley was a founding member. The launch of the Hostetler/Wrigley Sculpture Award continues the New Museum’s longstanding commitment to gender equity across its exhibitions, public programs, and leadership.

Today's News

August 27, 2022

Christie's to sell Paul Allen's $1 billion art collection

Parrasch Heijnen Gallery opens an exhibition of sculptures and works on paper by Susan York

Heritage Auctions' sale of philanthropist Mary Anne Sammons Cree's jewels will benefit Dallas nonprofits

Winold Reiss, an immigrant modernist way ahead of his time

Landmark acquisitions reflect the Hirshhorn's expansive curatorial mission and programming

New faces, new places, as Boston gets revitalized

At the U.S. Open, 5 artists get a place in the sun

Friends Seminary announces construction of James Turrell Skyspace

Miller & Miller announces highlights included in Petroliana & Advertising auction

The Kitchen will spend some creative time in a Westbeth loft

Crescent City announces highlights included in September Select Auction

Ultra-rare red diamond dazzles in Heritage Auctions' Spectacular Fall Jewelry Event

New Museum announces all-artist jury for inaugural Hostetler/Wrigley Sculpture Award

The MK&G messe to be back presenting the latest international trends in contemporary craft

The Fellows of the Pina Bausch Fellowship 2022 have been chosen

A children's show about everything, especially music

At Salzburg Festival, directing slow and fast

The Museu de Arte de São Paulo exhibits portraits by Dalton Paula

Making the rounds on Nashville's singer-songwriter circuit

Only connect: Finding a way into kinetic light's 'Wired'

Adrian Cheng and Cahiers d'Art celebrate 90 years of Zervos at the inaugural edition of Frieze Seoul

Baryshnikov Arts Center chooses dance veteran as leader

Original Florida Highwayman creates mural in Gainesville

The Michael C. Carlos Museum presents Making an Impression: The Art and Craft of Ancient Engraved Gemstones

What You Need to Know About Free Spin Credit Casino

Museums, Exhibits, Artists, Milestones, Digital Art, Architecture, Photography,
Photographers, Special Photos, Special Reports, Featured Stories, Auctions, Art Fairs,
Anecdotes, Art Quiz, Education, Mythology, 3D Images, Last Week, .


Ignacio Villarreal
(1941 - 2019)
Editor & Publisher: Jose Villarreal
Art Director: Juan José Sepúlveda Ramírez
Writer: Ofelia Zurbia Betancourt

Royalville Communications, Inc
Founder's Site. Hommage
to a Mexican poet.

The First Art Newspaper on the Net. The Best Versions Of Ave Maria Song Junco de la Vega Site Ignacio Villarreal Site
Tell a Friend
Dear User, please complete the form below in order to recommend the Artdaily newsletter to someone you know.
Please complete all fields marked *.
Sending Mail
Sending Successful